ISO Certifications

Better business, better safety and a better environment

The International Organisation for Standardisation (ISO) is a global standards body. Its voluntary international standards aim to facilitate global trade and promote risk-based management systems. Implementing ISO is a strategic decision which will impact how a business operates.

There are many different ISO standards available depending on your desired outcome from the process. These are broken down into categories such as quality, safety and security, industry, services and environment.

If your business is going for an associated certification, such as BRC Storage and Distribution or Authorised Economic Operator (AEO), you will find that an ISO Management System will provide key processes such as Management Review, Non-Conformance reporting, an Approved Supplier Process and, in ISO 9001’s case, clarifying customer requirements.

How VARTAN can help you

We can help you implement an integrated quality management system, ensuring the process improves the efficiency of your business by embedding a customer focused, processed-based operational structure. It can also increase trade by ensuring your products or services are compatible with other ISO certified businesses.

Obtaining an ISO certification requires time and commitment, as you will need to demonstrate for the auditors that the required procedures are embedded within everyday business practice. All employees will need to undergo training and receive regular updates on the project in order for it to be a success.

VARTAN will project manage your ISO certification from start to finish. The standard will be designed to fit your business model for a fully integrated solution. Following an initial consultation we will create a proposal to implement bespoke processes and procedures to ensure you achieve optimum benefits and rewards.  Not sure which standard is right for your business?  Give us a call and let’s chat.


ISO 9001:2015 – Quality Management

ISO 9001:2015 specifies requirements for a quality management system when an organisation:

a) needs to demonstrate its ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements, and

b) aims to enhance customer satisfaction through the effective application of the system, including processes for improvement of the system and the assurance of conformity to customer and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements.

All the requirements of ISO 9001:2015 are generic and are intended to be applicable to any organisation, regardless of its type or size, or the products and services it provides.

ISO 28001:2007 – Security management systems for the supply chain

Provides requirements and guidance for organizations in international supply chains to:

a) Develop and implement supply chain security processes;
b) Establish and document a minimum level of security within a supply chain(s) or segment of a supply chain;
c) Assist in meeting the applicable authorized economic operator (AEO) criteria set forth in the World Customs Organization Framework of Standards and conforming national supply chain security programmes.

ISO 14000 – Environmental Management

The ISO 14000 family of standards provides practical tools for companies and organizations of all kinds looking to manage their environmental responsibilities.

ISO 14001:2015 and its supporting standards such as ISO 14006:2011 focus on environmental systems to achieve this. The other standards in the family focus on specific approaches such as audits, communications, labelling and life cycle analysis, as well as environmental challenges such as climate change.

ISO 45001:2018 – Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems

ISO 45001:2018 specifies requirements for an occupational health and safety (OH&S) management system, and gives guidance for its use to enable organizations to provide safe and healthy workplaces by preventing work-related injury and ill health, as well as by proactively improving its OH&S performance.

It also enables an organisation, through its OH&S management system to integrate other aspects of health and safety, such as worker wellbeing.

ISO 45001 was adopted as a replacement for BS OHSAS 18001 in the United Kingdom in March 2018.